Sweet cheddar chive cornbread muffins

I love cornbread. If you make it cheesy, then I love it even more. Sometimes, though, cornbread can be dry. Not my recipe for sweet cheddar chive cornbread muffins. It is a mouthful, I know, but your mouth will do a happy dance once you bite into these sweet and savory muffins.

Finding this recipe was a total serendipity. I was looking for a thick muffin recipe for a pastry I am hoping to recreate in my kitchen one day. Unfortunately though, the recipe I found came out not very moist and a little bit on the bland side. All I have to do was tweak the recipe a little. I added more sugar (I know!) and lowered the temperature.

As with all of my recipes, I make them over and over again to make sure that we will often be rewarded with consistently good food. As you may have noticed, this blog has become a cooking blog in addition to it being my personal diary and travel log. I refer to my recipes whenever I am hit with cravings to eat and cook the same dish again.

These cheesy muffins are moist, light and oh, so delicious. They are both savory and a little sweet at the same time. And I have already made three batches of these. One batch was taste-tested and approved by two hungry boys! And I ate two batches for quality-assurance. LOL!

SWEET CHEDDAR CHIVE CORN MUFFINS

  • Nonstick oil spray
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup chopped fresh green onions or chives
  • 1 1/2 cups plain yogurt or sour cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

  1. Preheat to 400°F.
  2. Whisk flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and cayenne pepper (if using) in medium bowl. Stir in green onions.
  3. In another bowl combine yogurt, eggs, and melted butter. Add wet mixture to dry ingredients and stir just until blended.
  4. Spray 10 standard muffin cups. Divide batter among muffin cups. Fill until 3/4 full.
  5. Bake muffins in center rack for about 20 minutes until puffed and golden, and toothpick inserted into muffin comes out clean.
  6. Transfer pans to rack and let muffins cool in pans before serving.
  7. To re-warm, heat in microwave for about 30 seconds.
  8. Serve with a bowl of chili, enjoy by themselves or with coffee or tea. Enjoy!

MY NOTES

  1. I found out upon baking the second batch that adding more green onions or chives really add to the lovely flavors of these muffins. (Chives have a milder flavor than green onions. I tend to use green onions or scallions more in my cooking but feel free to use either one.)
  2. If you like spicy, adding cayenne pepper will bring that nice surprise heat to the muffins and will make the muffins sweet, savory and slightly spicy!
  3. These muffins are best eaten hot right out of the oven.

Did you bake SWEET CHEDDAR CORNBREAD MUFFINS? Please let me know by leaving a comment on the blog. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Sweet cheddar chive cornbread muffins”

    • Thinking about your note, I did not have corn bread until I came to the US. I think corn bread is one of the traditional American foods. We have lots of versions of corn rice cakes in the Philippines but not like the American version of cornbread. I do like cornbread and will surely miss it if I do not get to eat it again which I hope is never! Is cornbread common in Singapore? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment